Author Topic: My First Model  (Read 39396 times)

agentfunky

My First Model
« on: 29 August 2008, 14:39:07 »
Well, nearly....

HI,

I'm pretty new to the RC boat scene. My son and I would like to build a couple of RC models to sail together on a small lake we have access to.

At present I am building the Revell 1/72 scale Flower Class Corvette with RC. I have considerable experience in modelling plastic kits, and have built simple RC model boats before as well as RC aircraft, but I am keen to really test myself with a larger, more complex model such as the USS Kidd or Cossack. The corvette has given me some valluable experience, but it is still a solely a plastic kit, I would like to try working with different materials.

I have had some very good advice from the guys at Deans Marine and would welcome any ideas on kits that might be suitable to work on as a relative newcomer. It appears that the USS Kidd offers the most comprehensive plans and instructions while still allowing scope for some research to be conducted, but I have a soft spot for the Cossack and Kelly Class destroyers.

Any advice from modellers out there would be greatly appreciated, before I make a final decision on what to buy.

My current wish list includes the following, in no particular order

Narvic Destroyer
USS Kidd
HMS Verulam
HMS Zulu
HMS Cossack
HMS Grenville
HMS Kelley
HMS Javelin
HMS Amethyst

Any advice, tips and considerations that would help me narrow the list down would be gratefully appreciated.
« Last Edit: 29 August 2008, 15:26:45 by agentfunky »

Offline colin

• Building HMS Enchantress
  • Administrator
  • Admiral
Re: My First Model
« Reply #1 on: 29 August 2008, 19:31:13 »
Personaly i am not realy into Warships but if i had to Build one of the Models from your list, i would chose the Amethyst or Kelly, the reason beheind my choice:

these Models have not long ago had a compleat make over and brought upto date with the Building Matierials