Author Topic: Bulldog/Bronnington  (Read 7149 times)

Surge_et_vince

Bulldog/Bronnington
« on: 04 June 2008, 11:46:20 »
I am planning to return to model ships after a few years in real ones.  I have some modeling experience (I built an HFM marine Oil Rig Supply Vessel from the kit, converted a 1/72 Revell Flower Class to r/c, and made a small balsa tugboat from a free plan) although my skills are rusty.  My interest is in scale (or scale-ish) warships, but I don't want to start with anything too large, expensive or complicated.  I have my eye on the Dean's Marine HMS Bulldog or HMS Bronnington.  

My questions are:

(1) Would either of these kits be suitable for a "second-beginner"?

(2) I understand they have fibreglass (GRP) hulls.  I have worked with ABS, plastic and balsa hulls before, but not with fibreglass.  Is fibreglass hard to work with?  How much finishing, drilling, cutting etc needs to be done?

(3) Other than knife, sandpaper, drill and airbrush, will I need any special or expensive tools to complete such a kit?

(4) How complete are the kits?  Do I need to buy a separate fittings pack?

(5) Will standard size r/c gear fit, or do I need mirco r/c?

(6) What sort of motors, props and batteries are required?  

I'm sure other questions will pop up as I go along.

Thanks.

Offline colin

• Building HMS Enchantress
  • Administrator
  • Admiral
Re: Bulldog/Bronnington
« Reply #1 on: 04 June 2008, 16:28:42 »
Hello Surge

1. i would say yes they are suitable for someone with resonable/beginner modeling skills
2. the inside of the hull needs to be sanded down to a smooth finish so as the deck supports can be glued in firmly, but this is standard with any GRP hull. other than that i would say they are not hard to work with.
3. probably a good pair of sisors, mini files, and a good multi perpose minitool like Dremel or Proxon
(not to sure whats available in the UK)
4. everything is in the Kit that you need to build it, apart from Glue, Paint and Radio