Author Topic: Berthing tug Yarra, Dutch style  (Read 21990 times)

Offline subdriver

• Petty Officer
  • Lex
Berthing tug Yarra, Dutch style
« on: 09 November 2015, 15:56:44 »
Hello, I am Lex Verkuijl, a modelbuilder from the Netherlands. I have been modeling for nearly 40 years now, everything from speedboats to scale, tugs, and submarines.

(Please excuse some spelling- and gramar errors on my part, Englisch is not my native language. The other option would be to ask you all to learn Dutch ...  :) I have tried that with Ron for the past 30 years or so, still no results … ;D )

After finishing two of Ron’s kits in the past, the ‘MTB 488’ and ‘Lady Beale’, i have started on a new project; the tugboat Yarra. It is a realy nice model, easy to transport but still big enough to accomodate for some extra’s. I rarely build a model  ‘according to specifications’, usualy there are few extra functions and details added. For the yarra I have the folowing wish-list:

Brushless motors
Working Becker rudders
Soundsystem
Working fire monitor (turning and variable waterpressure)
Rotating radar
Various lighting
Working towing winch
Cooling water simulation

And  after studying some pictures I found on the all famous Internet of the original tug and it’s sister vessels I am going to add details as:

Tire ‘fenders’
Towing winch reels on deckhouse
Depth- and plimsol markings
Sacrifical anodes

Starting the Build

After taking a good look at the kit i decided to make some modifications. The supplied props dont seem to fit the nozzles properly. There is about 5-6mm clearence between the two in stead of 1mm needen for an efficiënt kort nozzle system.