Author Topic: Z37  (Read 92152 times)

Offline karlgalster

• Captain
Z37
« on: 01 February 2009, 16:23:03 »
Hi out there. I have been building the Deans Marine Z37 for some three months now so thought I had better show what progress is being made. I am approaching the Z37 build in much the same manner as my fellow forum member Belgium Crazy Team who stated in a recent posting in the "chit chat" topic in General Discussion -

"I always say that when I buy a kit, I buy time (the time that is needed to make a hull, fittings, ....)
I always refer to Ron's kits as scratchbuilding    because I normally don't use the plan he provides but get more detailed drawings of John Lambert.  Sometimes I don't use the fittings in the kit but I scratchbuild them."

I am actually using the kit drawing as a basis but using several books/DVDs I have obtained for further information.

I attach three photos. One shows what is in the box, the other two show the model after the control system had been installed and tested. I am using a Futaba 2.4Ghz radio - no more frequency channel pegs for me! I have advanced the model much further than this and will add more progress reports in time.

« Last Edit: 01 February 2009, 16:25:03 by karlgalster »

Offline Belgium Crazy Team

• Lt-Commander
Re: Z37
« Reply #1 on: 01 February 2009, 19:52:29 »
When I look at your pictures, everything is nicely put in place...
Why did you put the 2 battery packs not in front of each other?  That keeps the center of gravity low.
In destroyer type boats I always try to keep the center of gravity as low as possible.

These photo's are bringing back memories from the time I build my Z...
I had a motor problem with my Z after she was finished and had to install water-cooling with an installed deck...
When I tested her with an open deck the motor could "breath and no excessive heat was reduced, but with an installed deck and no room for extra ventilation, the motors heated up.